Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

How to register

Registering for classes at Penn State is a two-step process.  Students first meet with their academic adviser to discuss course selection for the upcoming semester.  Students then complete their registration by taking action on their semester tuition bill.  Visit eLion to find the name of your academic adviser and use the Advising Preparation application to contact your academic adviser.  Visit the Bursar's web site to learn more about tuition, billing, and payment options.

When to register and take other academic actions

The Academic Calendar lists important semester dates, including the dates of the drop/add period, as well as the last day to late-drop for each semester.  

 

Key Academic Actions and Associated Dates for Spring 2015
Action  Dates 
Intent to Graduate Activation    Monday, January 2 - Monday, January 26 
Leave of Absence Deadline Friday, January 9
Classes Begin  Monday, January 12
Martin Luther King Day - No Classes  Monday, January 19
Drop period Monday, January 12 - Wednesday, January 21 (11:59 p.m.)
Add period Monday, January 12 - Thursday, January 22 (8:00 a.m.)
Late drop Thursday, January 22 - Friday, April 10
Spring Break - No Classes  Sunday, March 8 - Sunday, March 15 
Withdrawal Deadline Friday, May 1
Last Day of Classes Friday, May 1
Final Exams  Monday, May 4 - Thursday, May 7
Commencement  Saturday, May 9

Retroactive Registration

In the event a student does not take action on his/her tuition bill before the semester ends, he/she may need to process a Retroactive Registration.  For more information, stop in our office in Frable 101B or call us at 412-675-9172.