Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index
Nursing Home Administrator Training

This Pennsylvania State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators approved specialty program is designed to provide a knowledge core of education for those interested in pursuing a career in the long term care administration field. The courses may also serve to satisfy State of Pennsylvania license renewal requirements.

Consisting of 16 courses, each 7.5 hours in length, the 120-hour program is taught by Penn State University faculty and area professionals.

*Penn State School of Nursing is an approved provider of continuing nursing education by the PA State Nurses Association, an accredited approver by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.


Dates: September 24, 2015 to November 13, 2015

Day/Time: Thursdays and Fridays 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Location: Penn State Greater Allegheny

Cost: TBA

Courses may be taken individually

 

Questions regarding PA licensure requirements should be directed to:


State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators
P. O. Box 2649
Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649

Phone:  717-783-7155
FAX: 717-787-7769
nha@pados.dos.state.ps.us


Please visit the state board page for information on qualifying for this training.

Fall 2015

Classes will be on Thursdays and Fridays, Sept. 24 through Nov. 13, 2015, from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm.

View the Fall 2015 brochure in pdf format (coming later)

Link to register on line (coming later)

Courses:

 

Thursday September 24, 2015, The nursing department and resident care management

Friday September 25, 2015, Personnel management and labor relations

Thursday October 1, 2015, Dietary department and resident nutrition   

Friday October 2, 2015, Social services, family and community relationships, resident rights   

Thursday October 8, 2015, Government and third party reimbursement

Friday October 9, 2015, Rehabilitation services and special care needs

Thursday October 15, 2015, Risk management, safety, and insurance

Friday October 16, 2015, Strategic planning, marketing, and public relations

Thursday October 22, 2015, Health support services, pharmacy, medical records, and diagnostic services

Friday October 23, 2015, Administration, organization, and management

Thursday October 29, 2015, Facility support services: building/grounds housekeeping, laundry, central supply

Friday October 30, 2015, Gerontology, diseases of aging, death, and dying

Thursday November 5, 2015, Role of government in health policy and regulation  

Friday November 6, 2015, Understanding regulations, deficiencies, plans of correction, and quality assurance  

Thursday November 12, 2015, Preparing for licensure/certification/accreditation surveys, and meeting other regulatory requirements  

Friday November 13, 2015, Fiscal management, budgeting, and accounting                


For more information

Continuing Education (412) 675-9040 or 
Academic Affairs (412) 675-9052

ga-continuinged@psu.edu